A record in the making: 3000+ legislators from all India scheduled to meet in June: NLC Bharat

The National Legislators’ Conference Bharat (NLC Bharat) has commenced registration of India’s first and largest gathering of 3000+ legislators from all India. The meet is scheduled to be held in Mumbai this June.

The 4-day conference is envisioned as a historic event that brings together Members of Legislative Assemblies (MLAs) and Members of Legislative Councils (MLCs) across India’s States and Union Territories to share their ideas and commendable practices on a common platform. It would be the first unprecedented gathering of elected representatives in the history of India.

NLC Bharat is a non-partisan platform for legislators to interact and learn from each other. Its cherished goal is enhancing legislative effectiveness and promoting good governance. The four-day event will see more than 80 parallel thematic participatory sessions of MLAs and MLCs.

These legislators will engage in experiential learning and thematic discussions in thoughtfully curated sessions. Acclaimed national/global leaders as well as various party leaders are invited to participate in sessions aimed at strengthening democracy. Interactions with delegates from democracies abroad are also planned.

“Our collective endeavour should be to take Indian democracy and parliament to even greater heights. NLC will also address the question of how we will make a young politician understand” said Dr. Meira Kumar, Former Speaker, Lok Sabha and Governing Council Member of NLC

“NLC is an attempt to cohesively build the nation,” said Shri Rahul V. Karad, Convenor, NLC Bharat. “All those present here and all those supporting us are the custodians of NLC Bharat. It is the result of a long-term vision. A platform that has participation from lawmakers from across parties and states can help strengthen our democracy.”

NLC Bharat is supported by various state Legislatures, respected senior bureaucrats, and members of civil society. Patrons and the Governing Council for NLC Bharat include former Lok Sabha speakers Smt. Sumitra Mahajan, Dr. Meira Kumar, Shri Manohar Joshi, Shri. Shivraj Patil and the Honourable incumbent Lok Sabha Speaker Shri Om Birla. The MIT School of Government, Bhartiya Chhatra Sansad, and Atulya Bharat Nirman Foundation are sharing the responsibilities to organise the conference.

Comments are closed.