For the very first time, Bodoland will host the Historic National Football Championship

For the very first time, Bodoland will host the Historic National Football Championship.

The All-India Football Federation announced that the next 76th Senior Men’s National Football Championship for the Santosh Trophy will be played at Kokrajhar, Assam.

Bodoland will host the Historic National Football Championship for the First Time. The matches for the Santosh Trophy group three will be contested from December 28, 2022, to January 5, 2023, according to a statement issued by the All-India Football Federation.

Three areas had previously been chosen. Group I will be hosted in Delhi (December 23, 2022 – December 31, 2022), while Groups II and V will be hosted in Kozhikode, Bhubaneswar, Odisha, and Kerala, respectively. The dates and places for the remaining two groups will be revealed soon.

The Senior National Football Championships will be contested in a new format, with 36 states competing in six groups for a chance to advance to the Final Round. The top six teams from each group and the three best second-placed teams will advance to the Final Matches. Along with the hosts, railways and services will be granted direct access.

Shri Pramod Boro CEM BTR, Shri Kalyan Chaubey President AIFF, along with other delegates during the Final of 1st ISPL in Sai stadium Kokrajhar[/caption]

The Hero National Santosh Trophy will be held in Kokrajhar’s SAI Stadium & KDSA Playground from December 28th, 2022 to January 5th, 2023.

The Group III match, which includes three North-eastern teams, is gearing up for the forthcoming Senior National Football Game.


December 28

Arunachal Pradesh vs Tamil Nadu

Uttar Pradesh vs Nagaland

Assam vs Goa

December 30

Uttar Pradesh vs Goa

Nagaland vs Tamil Nadu

Assam vs Arunachal Pradesh

January 1

Uttar Pradesh vs Tamil Nadu

Goa vs Arunachal Pradesh

Nagaland vs Assam

January 3

Uttar Pradesh vs Arunachal Pradesh

Tamil Nadu vs Assam

Goa vs Nagaland

January 5

Uttar Pradesh vs Assam

Arunachal Pradesh vs Nagaland

Tamil Nadu vs Goa

The Santosh Trophy, also referred to as the Hero Senior Men’s National Football Championship is organized by the All India Football Federation (AIFF), India’s regulatory body of football. The Santosh Trophy was regarded as the country’s most prestigious national honor prior to the advent of India’s first national club tournament, the National Football League, in the year 1996.

The states of the country, as well as some government organizations, compete in the Santosh Trophy. This is played yearly since 1941. Bengal became the first winner of the tournament, which took place in 1941. The trophy bears the name of the great Maharaja Sir Manmatha Nath Roy Chowdhary of Santosh, now situated in Bangladesh.

The tournament’s format has changed over the years. The teams are now grouped into eight groups, each with three or four teams. The eight group winners are then picked, along with four seeded teams who do not have to go through the qualifying round, and these twelve teams are placed into three groups of three. This is the quarter-final round, followed by the semi-final and final.

CEM of Bodoland Territorial Region Shri Pramod Boro initiated the first inter-Sixth Scheduled Councils Premier Football League-2022 (ISPL-2022) on October 9th at various playgrounds in Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR) districts. The authorities of the Bodoland Territorial Area (BTR) conducted the program to foster better collaboration and mutual trust and provide a forum for young athletes from India’s northeastern area.

The government of the Bodoland Territorial Region formed a football team selection committee to build a strong Bodoand Football Club (FC) for participation in the upcoming first inter-sixth schedule councils premier football league-2022. The selection committee was formed with Hemendraa Nath Brahma, secretary of the Assam Football Association, as chairman, Dr. Sangrang Brahma, OSD to CEM, BTR, as co-chairman, and CHD of Sports & Youth Welfare of BTC as member secretary, as well as six other members.

The Bodoland Territorial Territory (BTR), sometimes known as Bodoland, is an autonomous region in India’s northeast. It consists of five districts located on the north bank of the Brahmaputra River, below the foothills of Bhutan and Arunachal Pradesh. It is governed by an elected council known as the Bodoland Territorial Council, which was established under the provisions of a peace treaty agreed upon in February 2003, and its autonomy was extended by an agreement reached in January 2020.

Shri Pramod Boro is an Indian politician who has been the president of the United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) since February 25, 2020, and after the council election, he took charge as a Chief Executive Member of the Bodoland Territorial Area, an overseas territory in Assam. On the same day, he declared Kokrajhar the “City of Peace”.

Kokrajhar is one of Assam’s 27 districts on the north side of the Brahmaputra River. It reaches the international border with Bhutan’s Province. The Chakrashila Wildlife Park is situated in Assam’s heritage-rich district of Kokrajhar and is home to the elusive Golden Langurs. The place is scenically beautiful and is located at the foot of the lower Himalayas. The entire area is densely forested with lovely green trees. Kokrajhar also functions as the administrative headquarters of the Bodoland Territorial Council.

BTR Govt, AIFF, and Assam football Association cordially invite people across the country to come and witness the mega football event in Kokrajhar, BTR, Assam.

Check Also

Embracing Gender-Neutral Pronouns

Gender is a multifaceted construct with a diverse range of identities and expressions. It’s no …