As nutrition and health could be impacted, it is important to understand if you are eating real paneer or fake analogue paneer
If you come across outlets that sell paneer food items at unbelievably low prices, it is possible that they could be using analogue paneer. Some items that are likely to be using analogue paneer include affordably priced paneer paratha, paneer roll, paneer pakoda, etc. To better understand what is analogue paneer and its impact on health, let us discuss the matter in detail.
What is analogue paneer?
As per FSSAI (Food Safety and Standards Authority of India), analogue paneer is classified as a non-dairy item. Even though such products are allowed to use the term ‘paneer’. It essentially means that analogue paneer is a derivative of plant-based sources such as vegetable oil and vegetable protein. These can be used for making analogue paneer as well as other non-dairy items such as analogue cheese and analogue cream.
Is analogue paneer legal to manufacture?
Yes, it is completely legal to manufacture analogue paneer as per FSSAI standards. However, analogue paneer manufacturers need to follow the relevant rules and regulations. For example, the packet must clearly mention analogue paneer. The labelling can also vary depending on the ratio of materials used in the analogue paneer. If there is partial replacement of milk fat / milk protein, the packet must provide the details of the constituent used and its sources.
For example, the packet must mention – Contains soy protein / Contains mixed vegetable fat. Similarly, if the analogue paneer is made completely from non-dairy sources, the packet must clearly mention – Contains no milk fat / Contains no milk protein. Or ‘Contains no milk fat or protein’. In case of analogue cheese, the packet should mention Analogue -1.6.5. For analogue cream, the packet must mention Analogue -1.4.4.
How to identify fake analogue paneer?
If you are buying FSSAI-approved branded products, you should be able to see the appropriate labelling on the packet. It will tell you whether the paneer is derived from dairy sources or made from vegetable oil and vegetable protein (example – soy protein). You can then decide whether you want the real dairy-based paneer or the analogue paneer.
However, the problem occurs when the market is flooded with locally produced analogue paneer. These firms often do not have any license to produce analogue paneer. And it is difficult to determine the quality of such analogue paneer. These manufacturers supply in bulk to local restaurants, eateries and shops, often without any proper labelling. This makes it difficult for consumers to understand what they are eating or buying.
If you suspect any store-bought item to be analogue paneer, you can test it easily in your home. Here are some methods you can use.
1). Hot water test – To identify analogue paneer, place a piece of the paneer in hot water for 5-10 minutes. The fake analogue paneer will turn soft and slimy and start breaking apart. In comparison, real dairy-based paneer will stay soft and firm.
2). Iodine test – An antiseptic, iodine is easily available at pharmacies. It reacts to starch, resulting in blue/black color. Analogue paneer often has starch and can be detected with iodine solution. In comparison real paneer will not change color when you put a few drops of iodine on it.
3). Texture test – Real dairy-based paneer will be crumbly and slightly grainy. In comparison, analogue paneer can be rubbery, too smooth or too hard.
4). Smell and taste test – Real dairy-based paneer will smell similar to milk. In comparison, analogue paneer may feel plastic-like and will not have any milk smell or flavor.
5). Frying test – Real dairy-based paneer will turn light golden-brown during frying. In comparison, analogue paneer will melt easily or burn quickly.
It is recommended that you share this information with your family and friends. Because not many people are aware about analogue paneer. Consuming unbranded / unlicensed analogue paneer or fake paneer can be dangerous for your health.