Prem Singh Tamang takes oath for second term as Chief Minister of Sikkim

New Delhi, June 11: In a grand ceremony held at Paljor Stadium today, Prem Singh Tamang was sworn in for his second consecutive term as the Chief Minister of Sikkim. The oath of office and secrecy was administered by Governor Lakshman Prasad Acharya.

The Chief Minister took his oath in Nepali language, followed by his 11 Council of Ministers who were also sworn in during the event.

The new Council of Ministers include both seasoned leaders and fresh faces. Returning for their second term are Sonam Lama, Arun Kumar Upreti, Samdup Lepcha, and Bhim Hang Limboo. New faces in the Ministers include Bhoj Raj Rai, GT Dhungel, Mr Puran Kumar Gurung, Pintso Namgyal Lepcha, Nar Bahadur Dahal, Raju Basnet, and Tshering Thendup Bhutia.

Earlier, the ceremony commenced with VB Pathak, Chief Secretary seeking permission to read the warrant of appointment issued by the Governor. Following this, the Governor administered the oaths to the Chief Minister and the Council of Ministers.

The event was attended by Justice Biswanath Somadder, Chief Justice, High Court of Sikkim, Ganga Prasad, former Governor of Sikkim, Judges, High Court of Sikkim and distinguished guests including revered leaders, MPs, MLAs, party leaders, NGO representatives, and dignitaries from across the country, along with State Additional Chief Secretaries, Principal Secretaries, Secretaries, Heads of Departments, Government officials, and a large number of supporters from various walks of life.

The ceremony also featured chanting of prayers by Buddhist monks, singing of hymns by a Christian choir group, and Vedic chanting by the Sanskrit Mahavidyalaya to add a spiritual and cultural essence to the celebration. The crowd erupted in cheers and applause throughout the event with great enthusiasm and support for the new government.

It may be recalled here that the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM), led by party supremo Prem Singh Tamang, achieved a landslide victory in the assembly polls and secured the lone Lok Sabha seat in Sikkim. The SKM won 31 of the 32 Assembly seats in the polls, which took place simultaneously with the Lok Sabha Elections, 2024.


Check Also

Honda Racing India announces its riders’ squad for 2024 IDEMITSU Honda India Talent Cup NSF250R

· 2024 IDEMITSU Honda India Talent Cup NSF250R will feature 14 young guns, including 6 …