Brijbhushan Sharan Singh

Brijbhushan Sharan Singh is an Indian politician and a Member of Parliament (MP) from Kaiserganj Lok Sabha constituency in the state of Uttar Pradesh. Brijbhushan is a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). He has remained loyal to his party in most parts of his political career. It was only once in 2009 that he had contested from Kaiserganj constituency on Samajwadi Party (SP) ticket. However, he returned to BJP after few years and contested and won from Kaiserganj constituency in 2014. Brijbhushan could not work with SP for long, as there were ideological differences.

The fact that Brijbhushan was able to win elections, irrespective of which party he represented, goes on to show his popularity among the people. Brijbhushan had faced a lot of struggles in his early years and he had fought for the rights of his people. This is why he is widely popular in his constituency. In 2019 general election from Kaiserganj, Brijbhushan Sharan Singh defeated his nearest rival Chandradev Ram Yadav of Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP) by a margin of more than 2.60 lakh votes. Brijbhushan received 59.24 percent of the votes, whereas the runner-up received 32.58 percent votes.

Early Life and Education

Brijbhushan Sharan Singh was born on January 08, 1957 to Shri Jagdamba Sharan Singh and Smt. Pyari Devi Singh. He was born in Bishnoherpur, located in Gonda district of Uttar Pradesh. His educational qualifications include M.A., LL.B. and he had received education at Saket Mahavidyalay, Avadh University, Faizabad, Uttar Pradesh. In 1981, he married Ketki Devi Singh.

Political Career

Brijbhushan Sharan Singh had early exposure to politics, owing to his family background. He started out as a student leader and had won the students union election in 1979. Later, he contested for the post of director of sugarcane committee and won quite easily. Brijbhushan had actively participated in RamjanmBhumi Movement and was with Advani when the Rathyatra was in Uttar Pradesh. His first major win came in 1991 general election when he won from Gonda Lok Sabha constituency on BJP ticket. In later years, he also won from Balrampur and Kaiserganj Lok Sabha constituencies.

  • 1991: Elected to 10th Lok Sabha
  • 1999: Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
  • 2004: Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
  • 2009: Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (4th term)
  • 15 March 2014: Resigned from 15th Lok Sabha.
  • May, 2014: Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (5th term)
  • May, 2019: Re-elected to 17th Lok Sabha (6th term)
  • 13 Sept. 2019 onwards: Member, Standing Committee on Rural Development and Panchayati Raj; Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports

Personal Pursuits

Brijbhushan Sharan Singh is actively involved in a wide range of social and cultural programs. He has special interest in literature, singing, writing and poetry. In sports, he likes wrestling and volleyball. Brijbhushan is also an environment lover and has been actively involved in tree plantation projects.

Check Also

Is There Something Better Than Democracy?

With the help of technology, more effective versions of a democratic system can be evolved …